Roederer Awards 2011

(by peter)

This week saw the announcement of the 2011 Louis Roederer International Wine Writers’ Awards at a fizz-fuelled bash in London’s very glamorous Savoy Hotel.

I was very proud to be short-listed for the Online Wine Writer of the Year award for work on this site.

As it turned out, I didn’t win the award – but I was delighted for the eventual category winner Alice Feiring, whose excellent blog is entitled¬†The Feiring Line, and who was over from the US to collect the award.

The award winners had a decidedly international feel to them after previously being somewhat UK-centric. Aussies and Americans lead the charge, with international winners including Max Allen, Tyson Stelzer, Clay MacLachlan and Alice Feiring. Apprently total entries were significantly up on previous years, to 207, while international entries rose by 300% over 2010.

Below is a full list of the winners on the night – many congratulations to them all. Susie and I will now start plotting how to go about winning next time… First up is a re-launch of the site, due imminently, which is currently looking very exciting indeed. More on which anon…

Category 1: The Artistry of Wine Award – Clay McLachlan

Category 2: Emerging/ Young Wine Writer of the Year Award – Gabriel Savage for The Drinks Business

Category 3: International Online Wine Columnist / Blogger of the Year – Alice Feiring for The Feiring Line

Category 4: International Wine Website of the Year – Tim Atkin M.W. for

Category 5: International Wine Publication of the Year – The World of Fine Wine

Category 6: Regional Wine Writer of the Year РLiz Sagues  for the Hampstead & Highgate Express

Category 7: International Wine Book of the Year – Max Allen for The Future Makers: Australian Wine for the 21st Century

Category 8: International Wine Columnist of the Year – Victoria Moore for articles from the Guardian/ the Telegraph

Category 9: International Wine Feature Writer of the Year – Andrew Jefford for articles from The World of Fine Wine and Decanter

Category 10: International Champagne Writer of the Year – Tyson Stelzer for the Champagne Guide 2011 eBook